Planning Commission


  • Jeanne Tillotson   -  Chair
  • Lymari Larios        -  Vice-Chair
  • Donna Elliott         -  Commissioner
  • Martin Ramos        -  Commissioner
  • Vacant                    -  Commissioner


The Avenal Planning Commission was established by Ordinance No. 80-6.

The Commission consists of five (5) members appointed by the City Council on a rotating basis as per Avenal Municipal Code.  Each member of the Commission is accountable to the member of the City Council who appointed him/her and reports and answer to said City Council member.

Term of Office

Each member of the Planning Commission shall be appointed for a term of four (4) years.

Power and Duties

The Planning Commission shall have the power and duties prescribed by law.

Meeting Time and Location

The Planning Commission meets on the first Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m., Avenal Theater & Event Center, 233 E. Kings Street, Avenal, CA.


There are currently one (1) vacancies on the Planning Commission. If you are interested in becoming a Planning Commissioner in the future, please submit a Board Application Form.